Its been a stitch.

Let’s put this learning project out of its and my misery shall we.  This project ended up being way more difficult and frustrating than it needed to be.  What made it difficult and frustrating you ask? Several things actually.

Let’s start at the beginning.  In order to find resources, I went to trusty google and searched for hand applique patterns to find something I wanted to create and came up with this football banner.  I needed to know how make this so I searched beginner hand applique, beginner needle turn(alternate term for hand applique) and when those didn’t yield the level of instruction I was wanting and needing I switched beginner for learn to.  I came across this blog I didn’t read it depth but it looked like a good tutorial so I proceeded.  When I was scanning through I noticed this blog said to trace the pattern directly onto the material, I didn’t want to do that.  It is much cheaper to toss paper than fabric.  So I went in search for directions to create a freezer paper pattern and found this blog.  The pictures looked good and the instructions seemed to be clear on first reading. As I proceeded through using both blogs there seemed to be an assumption of a certain level of skill and understanding of applique.  That is when I should have stopped and moved on looking for other directions. But I didn’t and I got really frustrated and lost focus on the whole point of the project. Once I got back to the true purpose of this assignment, I took another avenue, looked at Youtube and found this lovely ladies tutorials lovely ladies tutorials and in a matter of two hours I was stitching the piece. Had I gotten out of my own head I may be close to having a great piece done, but oh well.

I didn’t learn as much as I wanted to about hand applique but I did learn something about learning online.  The first thing is that certain things are harder to learn online than others. I have had success in the past learning other things, so was a bit surprised when this was difficult.  I also found that for nearly all the resources for my project even though I found them under a learn to search there was an assumption of some skill and understanding.  I also found it difficult not to be able to ask questions because when I searched the comments to see if the question had been asked and answered, I discovered that both blogs I was using were no longer active.  I think if you are going to keep the information up and not deactivate the blog take a minute and put a warning that the blog is not monitored.  I think it took me so long to get to Youtube to search was because google didn’t for some reason have any Youtube videos in my initial searches.

In fairness I do like learning certain things online and will continue to do so mostly using Youtube for detailed instruction.  If it is a little more complicated I will be looking to make sure the blog is being monitored to answer questions.  I wish it had been more fun like my last 2 posts but I learned a few things, so it was not a fail.

 

 

Leave a Reply

