Frustrations and Realizations!

I am going to put this out there, I am not having fun with this learning project right now.  First off, I am perfectionist, so when I don’t understand or get things right the first time that ups the frustration level right there.  When the instructional material, is not very user friendly that sends me over the edge.  I am there with both things right now.

Now that is off my chest, I chose to go the blog route first for instructions.  I tend to learn best by reading about something and then doing it.  In the blog I got the pattern from there was no mention of having to cut out the white stripes and laces on the football as separate pieces.  I didn’t realize that until I had cut out my football and looked at it.  The laces and stripes are quite small and will be difficult to add a seam allowance and time consuming to sew. There were also no additional instructions on the site on how to prep the pieces.  So I did another search and found a couple of more blogs.

I chose this one because I did a quick scan of the blog and it appeared she was very well versed in applique by photos of her work.  I followed the instructions on making my template from freezer paper and that went well. However I should have read thoroughly all the way through.  She didn’t tell me how to measure the seam allowance, you just kind of had to eyeball it.  I don’t eyeball anything ever, for a very good reason, it never works.  I have no sense of measurement that is what rulers are for. Needless to say it was a disaster.

Here is a short video of my eyeballing and realizations.

Time to rethink and reboot.  Until next time.

5 thoughts on “Frustrations and Realizations!

  1. Oh Pam! I can relate to your frustration. I also had some moments of tension with my learning project, but I had to walk away for a moment and regroup because I wanted the experience to be enjoyable. This is one downfall of learning online, not being able to ask questions or be directed when going down a wrong path.
    I hope it all works out! I can’t wait to see your progress!

    Like

  2. Hi Pam,
    No doubt learning new material can be frustrating, especially when you think things that should be basic, aren’t basic at all. What I’ve learned though, is learning new material or new skills is suppose to be frustrating and not easy. Being challenged the way you were is actually going to help you moving forward I bet. I know it does me. If it was easy to learn new skills, we would all be experts. Just know, you’re not alone, we all went through struggles in this course, and other courses. Through this course I’ve also realized there is a big community out there to help us out when we need it. Good luck moving forward.

    Like

  3. Now that you know all the pitfalls maybe you can start over and it will go much more smoothly. You just might get the results you were hoping for when this project first begun.

    p.s. I am a huge fan of do-overs. 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment